top of page



He Said She Said​

for violin, cello, and piano​

Composed for Neave Trio in 2017-18, He Said She Said is an entertaining yet serious 12-minute single-movement piece inspired by the sound and emotion of male/female conversations and their friendly disagreements. The piece progresses as a set of free variations on these materials in a variety of textures, moods, and tempi, coming to agreement in the end.  

He Said She Said (excerpt)Neave
00:00 / 03:41

Contact to inquire about score and parts. 

Far Corners score cover.PNG

Far Corners 

for flute solo

"A showpiece for the solo flutist, Far Corners is a set of five variations which explore unexpectedly interesting aspects of the opening musical idea. To this end I exploited harmonics, quick changes of register, and my own quirky sense of humor. Several listeners have mentioned that the second variation tricked them into thinking there were really two flutists playing at once; exactly the illusion I had aimed to create." (B. Lazarus)

Far CornersL. Zucker, flute
00:00 / 00:00

 Romance and Scherzo

 for cello solo

​“When I commissioned composer Bruce Lazarus for two solo cello pieces, I asked that they be written so that cellists of relatively modest accomplishment could play them without too much difficulty. I am happy to see that he has succeeded while maintaining variety and scope. From the opening of the pensive “Romance” to the more cheerful “Scherzo”, with its darker middle section, the stylistic breadth and accessibility of Romance and Scherzo will I’m sure greatly appeal to cellists and audiences alike.”​ - Kurt Kaufman

ScherzoK. Kaufman, cello
00:00 / 04:50

Email for a copy of the score. 

Starry Messenger: Fanfare for Brass Quintet


Starry Messenger, a six-minute showcase for brass quintet, was inspired by the title of Galileo Galilei’s first book of astronomical observations, The Starry Messenger (Sidereus Nuncius, 1610), in which Galileo wrote:

“I have seen stars in myriads, which have never been seen before, and which surpass the old, previously known, stars in number more than ten times…”

Bruce Lazarus String Quartet%20PG%201%20JPEG_edited.j

String Quartet (2020)

1. Pluck

2. Without Words

3. Interlude

4. Caprice

Contact for score and parts. 


Threnodies and Anthems

for bagpipe and tenor saxophone

(one or two players)

"Threnodies (expressions of grief) and Anthems (affirmations) was inspired by the HIV-AIDS deaths of my parents and many of my friends.  The agile, fluid tenor saxophone expresses mourning in a series of threnodies, and the steadfast bagpipe responds to each threnody with a life-affirming anthem. By the end of the third cycle, the saxophone is able – haltingly – to reach an equanimity that the bagpipe picks up and fearlessly expands."  (B. Lazarus, 1994) 

Threnodies & Anthems J. Ingram
00:00 / 09:24

Dark Scherzo

for string orchestra

Contact for score and parts.


Quintet (2005)​

for violin, cello, flute, clarinet, and piano

1. Stratagem

2. Meditation

3. Indiscretion

Quintet (2005)Lazarus
00:00 / 04:26

Contact to inquire about score and parts. 


for oboe, cello, and piano

NightNew World School Ensemble
00:00 / 09:48
bottom of page